Homepage of Harry Broeders.

Mariniersweg 24
3255 VG  Oude Tonge
The Netherlands
Tel: +31 187 641143


My Life:

I was born on 24 December 1962 in the hospital of Dirksland which is a small village on the island Goeree-Overflakkee in the Netherlands. My mother expected me two weeks earlier but they had to come and get me because I wanted to wait for Christmas. I was raised in a very small village called Zuidzijde (link points to information in Dutch) which is also on the island Goeree-Overflakkee. I have one brother called Richard. In july 1986 I graduated  from the Rijswijk Institute of Technology where I also got my first (and until now only) job. In june 1987 I married to Marie-Louise van Vugt and we moved to Oude-Tonge (also on Goeree-Overflakkee). In 1990 my first daughter Anne was born followed by my two sons Theo in 1992 and Koen in 1993. My second daughter Linda was born in 1996. In 2010 I graduated from the Delft University of Technology. In 2020 I became a grandfather.

The Genealogy of my Family:

The genealogy of the Broeders family can be found here. I'm number 75. My mother's maiden name is "van Dravik". A part of the genealogy of this family can be found here. I'm number 60.

My Hobbies:

Sorry no time to fill this in,

  • I have work to do ...
  • books to read ...
  • and one grandchild to spoil ...
  • I also like card games. E.g. hearts (called hartenjagen in Dutch). Here is a picture. In the past I used to play chess with one of the kids (Theo) but since I can't defeat him anymore I quit that game ;-) Here are some pictures.
  • and in the summer I have to go bilking and hiking and visit the beach.


My Studies:

In 1982 I graduated from "MTS Zuid" in Rotterdam (some sort of vocational education). You can see my grades here. Modesty was never one of my virtues ;-)

In 1986 I got my Bachelor's degree (cum laude) from "r.-k. HTS Rijswijk". You can see my grades here.

In 2007 I went back to school and started a Master's of Science study Embedded Systems at Delft University. I'm very grateful to my employer for giving me this opportunity and 2 days for studying each week. In december 2010 I graduaded (cum laude). You can see my grades here. Here are some products from my study:

My Work:

From 1986 to 2015 I was a lecturer at The Hague University of Applied Science (in Dutch: De Haagse Hogeschool). A few memories can be found here. Some courses I taught were:

  • Programming and Software Engineering.
    • Structured Programming in C.
    • Object-oriented Programming in C++.
    • Datastructures in C++.
    • OOA, OOD and design patterns.
    • UML modeling.
  • Microprocessor Hard- and Software using the Atmel AVR microprocessor family.
  • Real-Time Operating Systems.
  • Embedded Systems.
    • Hardware/Software Codesign with SystemC.
    • Electronic System Level Design and Verification.

Visit my workpage
Here you see me working with some of my colleagues
In 2011 I was elected lecturer of the year (Academie Docent) at "Academie voor Technology, Innovation & Society Delft"!
From 2015 until now I am a lecturer at Rotterdam University of Applied Science (in Dutch: Hogeschool Rotterdam) in the Electrical Engineering (in Dutch: Elektrotechniek) department. Some courses I teach are:
Logo HR
If you want to know more about my work please visit my workpage.
By the way, my wife is selling environment friendly cleaning equipment called Ha-Ra. You can clean with a Ha-Ra cloth and only water so you don't need any chemicals any more! Unbelievable but true. If you want more information please send an e-mail to Marie-Louise at marie-louise@hc11.demon.nl.
Environment friendly cleaning cloths.

My travel blog (2011):

In 2011 my wife and I visited the American Southwest. My wife kept a blog (in Dutch) which you can find here: http://harryenmarielouise.waarbenjij.nu/. The pictiures from the blog can be found here: http://harryenmarielouise.waarbenjij.nu/?page=pictures&intTravelId=333929

My family (2012):

My family (2011):

The Omroei (2011):

In 2011 my friend Harry and I rowed around the island Goeree-Overflakkee in a canoe. It took us 3 days. The route we follow is shown below and some pictures can be found here.

My family (2007):

My holiday pictures (2006):

In the summer of 2006 my family travelled north-west canada by camper. We took about 1800 pictures. The 43 I liked most can be found here.

My kids (2004):

My family (2000):

What am I looking for? (Click the picture to see it..)

Click to see what I'm looking at...

My kids (1998):

Click on our heads to find out our names!

My kids.

My Kids with teeth:

My kids with teeth

Some of my colleagues, my wife and I walking in the mud. This is called "wadlopen".